jump to navigation

The Best Sandwiches in DC Bar None January 1, 2006

Posted by KG in DC, Food.
trackback

To State Dept. colleagues embarking on consultations, friends who work anywhere near the White House, and anyone else who likes the taste of deliciousness: get thee over to Breadline.  I stopped by Christmas Eve Eve after a brief trip to the Department and had the Triancria Sausage sandwich: it was phenomenal.  I’m a sandwich lover, and I can say with conviction I do not think I’ve had a better sandwich.  I have no idea how Au Bon Pain stays in business on the same block as this gem.

Local foodies report that Breadline supplies the bread for many top restaurants in the city. That doesn’t surprise me, as the bread was absolutely stunning.  Its bread that would make any Atkins dieter cry, bread that would make Wonder Bread CEOs commit hari kari for their insult to the staff of life.

Make it your New Year’s resolution to visit Breadline.  If you have friends/family touristing, consider it a mandatory stop.   Yes, Cosi may be cheaper, but the few extra dollars spent for a truly amazing sandwich are worth it.

Comments»

1. Mike - January 2, 2006

Happy New Year!
I like the blog name.

2. nowheregrrl - January 2, 2006

Seconded. Sorry we couldn’t catch up this time around, but life is busy with both of us leaving the area. I’m sure we’ll run into each other sooner or later. Happy New Year.

3. Prince Roy - January 2, 2006

Thirded here, and thanks for the link. I’ll give this sandwich place a go when I get back to DC this spring, right after Baja Fresh.


Leave a Reply

