jump to navigation

Let Me Go On June 10, 2006

Posted by KG in Islamabad.
trackback

In general, I am not a member of the sunburning peoples of the world.  My mother has a complexion far fairer and burns easily, but I inherited genes from the other 3/4ths of the family, the darker set.  This has been useful for many things, including eschewing use of sunscreen, facetiously saying "oh man, I am so pale right now" in the winter, and blending into the night like a ninja.

But I guess Pakistan didn't get that memo.

Since I've been here, I've burned a number of times.  Its probably the heat, or maybe there's a hole in the ozone right above my head.  The first was in Taxila, a site of Buddhist ruins where I climbed a few thousand steps, as well as seeing this gem of Pakistani craftsmanship.  Predictably, I also burned a bit while up North.  It got really bad last weekend though — after frisbee, I took a look at my arm and saw a thousand tiny blisters.  An allergic reaction to horrible PIA food?  Thankfully, no.  It was just really bad and weird sunburn.  And this morning, my arms started peeling like I was molting.  Aren't you glad I don't have my camera?

So, to all my pale friends who I made fun of for slathering on sunblock and wearing stupid hats: I'm really, really sorry.  I guess this is what I deserve for bring the mockery.  Question: when will the itching end?

Comments»

1. nowheregrrl - June 12, 2006

I think we’ve come to the part of the world age where we have seriously messed up the ozone and are reaping the consequences. I’ve been having my own sun issues back at home, too, as a generally nonburning person.


Leave a Reply

