jump to navigation

FFFSI July 3, 2006

Posted by KG in Back in DC, Blog.
trackback

Dear reader, again, I must apologize.  I know you’re chomping at the bit for substantive posts from a wide-eyed traveler back in the US after some time in the third world.  So: The roads are so clean!  The sky is so big!  Things are expensive!  Draft beer is delicious!  Girls look good in skirts!

Phew.  Now that that’s over with, a smaller but in my mind more amusing topic.  It seems that I’ve returned to FSI a known quantity, as evidenced by this brief exchange I had at lunch today.

FSO 1: A, this is Diplodocus.

FSO 2: I know, I read your blog. 

Though there were times where lines of people would form around me while waiting in Islamabad’s departure lounge, I was much more amused by the fact that I was recognized back at FSI via this site.  Not that I even try to maintain anonymity, but still, hilarious, no?  Maybe I should try to organize an FSI blogger happy hour.  Or better yet, maybe you FSOs in various trainings should come out to the happy hour my former cohorts are throwing.   Or, at the very least, leave a comment so I know who you are.  Come on, quit being shy!

Comments»

1. Prince Roy - July 3, 2006

yeah, the same thing happened to me. People stopped me in the corridors. See if you can at least cadge some beers out of your notoriety-let me know it it works.

2. FSO2 (perhaps I've found my new nickname?!) - July 4, 2006

Guilty as charged (from FSO2)! But it’s a compliment from those of us back in training land that we read your blog! It’s a flavor of the field for the rest of us :).

Beers for notoriety? Hmm. Maybe, but *I’m* not the one on per diem right now. *sniff* *sob* *local*

3. Shawn - July 5, 2006

I’m happy to be part of the FS blog world in spite of the repeated implications during A-100 from various security sessions that I’m basically begging the Chinese to crawl into my apartment via the Internet. Oh well.

Yes, let’s have beer.

4. FSO2 - July 5, 2006

I have a blog under password access, but haven’t outed myself publicly yet. Not sure I’m ready for notoriety! Meanwhile, you’ll just have to deal with the travelogue ;).


Leave a Reply

