jump to navigation

Surrendering to Materialism August 7, 2006

Posted by KG in Shopping.
trackback

Saturday I took the sister to Towson, which I guess is kind of like Baltimore County’s version of Georgetown when you think about it (rich people, expensive stores, annoying undergrads, bland cookie cutter bars…). It was a trip with ulterior motives — my old reliable walking shoes, purchased on a snowy afternoon in Chicago two years ago, are a few miles past tattered, and since the Islamabad electrical grid decided to have its way with my ancient stereo and my computer’s peripheral speakers I have been sadly lacking in the things-that-make-lots-of-noise department.

This blog is no stranger to indulgent photos of new shoes and new toys, but these particular purchases were very gratifying. The shoes were extremely zaruruth, as the Pakistanis say, and the iPod speaker system is, in a word, fantastic. I heart both — and as the empty places in my heart multiply with the exodus of friends from DC, near-obscene materialism is a bit of a comfort.

A Better Shot of the New Shoes

iLove my iPod HiFi

I do believe that these speakers are superior to the popular Bose iPod dock, particularly at high bass levels and volumes.  The downside is that it is a bit heavier and the remote interface is not as good.  In my opinion, fair tradeoffs.

Comments»

1. MC - August 9, 2006

Dude, pink & brown shoes? Cool! And the speaker thing is bigger than I imagined. But to think that we departees could be replaced by speakers and shoes… 😉

2. nowheregrrl. - August 9, 2006

Towson sucks! I am so happy I got a crap haircut from Bubbles there because now I have pretty much no reason to go to that horrible, suburban wasteland of complacent teenyboppers whos futures are the washouts sitting at Padonia Station up the street.

Great shoes btw. Long live materialism! It’s the patriotic thing.

3. Phil - August 10, 2006

I now feel that my Bose iPod dock is somehow a bit…er…inadequate.

Thanks a lot.


Leave a Reply

