jump to navigation

Of Astoria February 8, 2007

Posted by KG in Etc..
trackback

There’s not been much for me to write about lately, as life has been slipping in to a routine and I’ve been alternately enjoying and loathing the repetitiveness.  I’ve been doing some reading, keeping up with the Gumby practice, and conquering the Germans, with some time reserved for various other necessary tasks (eating, work, 30 Rock, etc.).  You know, same old same old.  One thing I’m extremely happy with is my eMusic subscription, which has proven to be a reliable and affordable way to expand my classical music collection.  At the moment, the Organ Symphony is a nice background for unleashing marauding Axemen (Debussy best reserved for long peacetime slogs). 

Classical music hasn’t been the only background lately.  On the more popular front, I’m currently obsessed with the new Of Montreal album.  Surprising, because I’d not bothered listening to the band before, I’m not going through a breakup, and I caught the Pitchfork review after downloading the album (Impulse downloads at the end of the month: best or worst part of eMusic? Discuss.)  It’s an awesome record, dark but not too dark, sad but not weepy, and synthy without turning into “that album we wrote when we were listening to alot of Kraftwerk.”  One of the best rock/pop albums I’ve listened to in a long time.  “The Past is a Grotesque Animal” in particular deserves the plaudits various hipster sites have given it. 

One of the elements in the song is a constant synth bass line in the background that’s eerily familiar.  Over the course of 15-20 listens, I think I’ve figured out why: it may be similar to a prominent phrase from the score to The Goonies.  (I feel ridiculous hyperlinking one of the greatest films of the 80s, but maybe there’s someone out there who doesn’t know what I’m talking about.)  Sadly, I don’t have a copy of the DVD handy.  But I think hearing a synth line that may or may not be similar to a four note theme from the score is a good enough reason to purchase one, don’t you?

UPDATE: Seriously, The State Theater?  That does not please me at all.  Anyone going?  Can you give me a ride?

Comments»

1. Reenee - February 9, 2007

Listen to The Sunlandic Twins if you liked Hissing Fauna. It’s better. Also, I’m probably going to that show if you wanna come with.

2. M - February 10, 2007

I LOVE eMusic, too. I think my subscription ends in a few months unfortunately. I’m not sure if I’ll have enough time to surf around for new music like I do now later, depending on school… hope you’re doing well.


Leave a Reply

