jump to navigation

Tell Me What to Read May 10, 2007

Posted by KG in Books.
trackback

Julie and Julia was good Metro reading material: light, simple fluff, kind of like a good meringue.  Definitely not a book that kept me thinking after I closed it, though it certainly did a good job of making me hungry.  (And no, I’m not envious of Julie Powell at all.  Not utterly jealous of the fact that she managed to transform a blog into a career — or, perhaps better put, an avocation into a vocation.  Accidentally. Oh, and that she has a big dog.  No envy from me.) 

Now I’m torn between two (seven?) novels.  Cloud Atlas has been on my reading list forever, and I just realized I have a copy of Absurdistan buried somewhere in the basement.  The decision is complicated by the fact that I really, honestly, authentically tried to start Cloud Atlas at a time when starting a mindbending novel with six different plots was probably not the best idea in the world.  Still, I feel like I need to give it a second chance, if only to redeem myself for past lapses into intellectual laziness.  On the other hand, Absurdistan: a novel about visas!  Who wouldn’t want to read a novel about someone trying their hardest to circumvent 214(b)?  Sounds awesome to me.

Until I decide, it’s time to re-read issues of the Atlantic.  And spend Metro time idly wondering why its virtually impossible to predict how crowded the blue/orange line is during rush hour. 

Suggestions, as always, are appreciated (for both the book and the Metro thing, I ain’t picky).

Comments»

1. Pastor Warren - May 10, 2007

Seaworthy, T.R. Pearson

2. mud - May 10, 2007

I loved “The Russian Debutante’s Handbook” by the same author as Absurdistan (Gary Shteyngart). Prague by Arthur Phillips was also an interesting read with an East European flair.

Outside of that, two relatievely rediculous yet entertaing books: “The Day I Turned Uncool” by Dan Zevin or “A Big Boy Did it and Ran Away” by Christopher Brookmyre

3. Elisabeth - May 12, 2007

The Judgment of Paris by Ross King. You wouldn’t think a non fiction about the rise of French Impressionism would be interesting, but I would . It’s a surprisingly fast read. And read The Stranger by Albert Camus and try to get into George Bush’s head while he was “reading” it. I started reading Julie and Julia, but then I started a relatively dumb sounding reading/blogging project.

4. fsowalla - May 13, 2007

Half of a Yellow Sun. I also have a list of books with asterisks noting recommendations on my blog. How much can you read on a 4 minute metro ride?


Leave a Reply

