jump to navigation

More Than Rocks September 21, 2007

Posted by KG in Honeymoon, Wife.
trackback

There’s a small pile of rocks about 8,000 feet above sea level on Whistler Mountain, British Columbia. It’s one of many — inukshuks, each telling the world “I have been here.” What makes this particular pile of rocks special is that it is ours. Inspired by the scenery, we left the established path and scrambled to our own private overlook. The day, her smile, and my mood were golden. We arranged rocks there: “We have been here. Together.”

Each day of our trip was a treasure in its own right, but of all the memories of our honeymoon (or at least Honeymoon Pt. 1), I find that moment particularly poignant, preserved in amber in my mind.  It comes  back as a saccharine smile, enough to nauseate the cynics out there. Or remembering that we were together and now it hurts even more that we’re not (and I thought that was impossible…)

Since it probably won’t stand the seasons changing, I’m going to leave our inukshuk here as well. A website is a marker for memories that everyone can see: “This thing happened, I was there.” It’s as permanent as things get now, and I don’t want to forget that we were on top of a mountain, happy, beaming, newly married and acting like it. I’d like that marker to be in place forever.

DSC00709

M, I miss you.

Comments»

1. M. - September 24, 2007

I miss you too, my sweet.

2. Honeymoon Bound - May 26, 2008

That’s awesome! I made my first inukshuk on Orcas Island last week. Sounds like a great place for honeymoon travel! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

