jump to navigation

Soup, A-, Soup Photos, C+ November 26, 2007

Posted by KG in Food.
trackback

Caldo verde and Portuguese corn bread

Above: my Sunday dinner.

Ruhlman’s advice inspired me to devote most of my Saturday to making stock.  But not turkey stock — ham stock, from a big, delicious hamhock my mother gave me.  With some turkey bones thrown in for good measure.  The task started around 1:30 pm with the bones, an onion, a head of garlic, some fresh oregano, and some thyme.  It was finished 7 hours later with a rich, dark stock I seem to have made myself.  Why so long?  Because I can, that’s why.

The stock was the base for Sunday dinner, a version of Caldo Verde.  My ongoing love affair with kale continues!  The concept seems very similar to Italian Wedding Soup, but given the tweaks in this recipe, there’s no way to be certain. 

The soup’s ingredients: the aforementioned stock, about two quarts; four cups kale (cut into a chiffonade); six ribs celery, one spanish onion, and one large carrot (diced); one pound fingerling potatoes (chopped); one pound chorizo (roughly chopped).  Here’s my artfully arranged mise-en-place:
Mise en Place

You’ll notice that the stock has a rather odd consistency.  Even with all the fat skimmed off, it became gelatinous when refrigerated overnight.  But reheated, it liquified.  The finished soup hit that warming spot you expect from a hearty winter meal.  I served it with a loaf of broa I picked up from the baker, completing the Portuguese theme of the evening.

Making stock is a perfect winter’s day activity.  It takes a great deal of time, but the work is easy and very zen.  If you haven’t done it before and are intimidated, don’t be — the skill involved is simple enough for even the most novice cook, and very rewarding.
   

Comments»

1. graceandpoise - November 30, 2007

But you were so in love with the soup – why didn’t it get full marks?


Leave a Reply

