jump to navigation

New Toy! August 9, 2008

Posted by KG in Mumbai, Photos, Technology.
trackback

After a good two years of camera envy, I finally took the plunge and bought a digital SLR. A good bit of research led me to the Canon XSi. I almost bought a Nikon D80, but at the end of the day picked the XSi based on price, since its starter package was about $200 cheaper. More money for future lens purchases!

I’m still learning the ropes of a non point-and-shoot — ISO, aperture, metering, etc.  If you’ve got some photography expertise or any reliable references for a beginner, let me know.  Of course, I generally prefer learn-by-doing. So: here are some shots from around town with my new toy.

The local garlic hydrant.

St. Stanislaus Church, Bandra.

A house on Chapel Road, Bandra.

Our neighbor, in her new boutique.

We’ve got some travel to some picturesque places planned in the near future, so stay tuned.

Comments»

1. Ann Marie - September 14, 2009

I have found your blog as I was researching life in the FS. My husband takes the test in October!

He is also an avid amateur photographer and he learned a lot from http://www.kenrockwell.com/

Ken gives great info on gear and technique. You should especially check out HDR. I think temples at sunset would be amazing with some digital help.


Leave a Reply

