jump to navigation

Shots in the Dark January 19, 2009

Posted by KG in Mumbai, Photos.
trackback

The Mumbai Festival started Friday night, at an amphitheater by the Arabian Sea, surrounded by palm trees. The chance to go to an open air concert and dance performance at that venue was too good to pass up, as it generally doesn’t happen around here that often.  It also gave me the chance to try out my camera, as well as start fiddling more with Photoshop.

As far as the latter goes, I’m glad I ordered a book on the subject. I’ve never used Photoshop before, and it seems powerful but intimidating. A little reading seems like a good idea.

A harder fix: figuring out how to photograph low-light performances well. I got some decent shots, but I couldn’t figure out the exact balance between shutter speed and F number to capture the feel of the performers with crisp images. It may be an issue of equipment; I’m still using my 18-55 kit lens, and am hesitant to invest in a nicer lens without figuring out how to really operate my current one well. For now, any tips from readers who know stuff about low light photography? I’m still pretty clueless.

Oh yeah — the obligatory photos!

Dancer, Mumbai Festival

Flamenco Dancer

Dancers, Mumbai Festival

Comments»

1. mud - January 22, 2009

Those are some nice shots. In photoshop, try adjusting your levels and also using “highlight shadow”. That might help lighten the photos a bit more to your liking without overexposing the whole photo.

Others doing low light photography will bump up the ISO, but of course that usually yields more noise. They’d then use a noise reduction program in post processing. I’m not a fan of this, but others swear by it.

Hope that helps. (BTW, the 18-55VR kit lens is not a bad lens, but if you want a really versatile lens, go for the 18-135 or the 18-200VR lens. I carry the 18-200 for travel photography and love it, but I hear it’s not as sharp as the 18-135)


Leave a Reply

