jump to navigation

I Call it “Viv” August 18, 2009

Posted by KG in Etc., Mumbai.
trackback

We’ve got a new member in our family and it’s rather unwelcome: a cheeky little bastard called Plasmodium vivax.  It’s apparently been living in me for a while. 

Of the parasites to get, I should be happy I got this one.  There have to be way worse around our stomping grounds, what with the open sewers, burning trash, and random street animals.  That doesn’t make having Viv around any better.   She tends to show up every other day, and dude, she’s a total buzzkill.  No one has any fun when Viv’s around.

Luckily, there’s a solution to all the fun: science!  Among the things local doctors happen to know about are tropical diseases.  I’m on some sort of cocktail of drugs that may or may not have once mixed well with gin, and am told these should drive Viv away from me in  a couple days.

And in the meantime, as anyone with an exotic illness should consider doing, I am enjoying some street cred.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment