jump to navigation

Movement Forward, Goals January 9, 2010

Posted by KG in DC, Mumbai, Running, Yoga.
trackback

Fully cognizant of the fact that I’m jinxing it, it looks like our future plans are coming together and the wife and I will be returning to the District in mid-2010. Its what we both wanted and needed, and it’ll be the first time we’ll be living as a married couple back home.

In a spirit of solidarity with Catherine, whose 30 while 30 is admirable enough to be mimicked, I’ve been thinking of goals for when we get back to the States. Nowhere near 30, but, here’s a few things I want to accomplish by year’s end. This list isn’t exhaustive, but I’m intentionally avoiding joint goals with me and my wife (“travel more”), generic goals everyone has (“save more money”) or goals that are just way to general (“take life less seriously”) in favor of concrete objectives I can achieve on my own.

One of the things I’m most looking forward to doing once back home is hitting the pavement, literally. I went on a few runs when we were in Australia, reminding me how much I miss the solitary, minimalist feeling of running a few miles, early in the morning. Life in Bombay has been many things for us. Solitary and minimalist, however, it hasn’t been. Of course I’m also a little nervous that after two years of rickety cab rides, bad posture, loosening my hips through yoga, and no running my poor legs won’t be able to take it, but that’s what ibuprofen is for. Since i’ve taken so much time off, and I’m a bit older than back when I ran the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler, I’m ready to accept I won’t be as fast as I once was. Goal: Run the Army 10 Miler, October 24, in less than 1’40”.

Speaking of yoga: DC has yoga studios! Multiple ones! I’m hoping by the time I get back to the States I’ll be able to devote a couple hours a week to regular practice, and work on developing a stronger pincha and a decent scorpion. Is getting a full split in one year a bit too ambitious? Probably, but it doesn’t hurt to try. Goal: Work on splits all year. Nail vrschikasana. Widen my yoga practice, and try out new postures and styles whenever possible.

In keeping with the yogic-ness, I want to reduce my consumption of meat. Ezra Klein wrote a well reasoned piece for the Post about the environmental impact of meat back in July, and I started working on shifting the focus of my diet to vegetables and fish back then. Unfortunately, almost immediately thereafter I got malaria, and then anemia. Reducing meat consumption while your blood’s iron content is dangerously low? Bad idea. But I’ve been all better for a while now, so no more excuses. I think the key will be changing basic habits. To start, a Goal: cook at least two vegetarian meals a week. Once back in DC, eat more fish.

A short list, I admit, but achievable. Let’s see how much I can do in the time I’m still in India. The real test, however, starts when we’re back in DC.

Comments»

1. Catherine - January 11, 2010

Good goals! I’m *this close* to a headstand…if you ever wanna go to a class together when you’re back, just let me know!

2. Theresa - March 10, 2010

Veggie dishes! Considering I’m someone who thought any real meal without meat to be no meal at all, I have discovered that making veggie dishes is actually easy. You guys will have learned a bunch from being at post, but you can add to your list of recipes all the pasta dishes that are made without any meat in them at all. Who knew! For suggestions, email me. I’ve developed a catalogue!

3. Here’s to 2011… « The Diplodocus - January 5, 2011

[…] disappointment.  Goals were more my thing, but unfortunately I failed spectacularly at all of the goals I set for 2010, with the possible exception of ”eat more fish.”   When 2/3 of your goals are […]


Leave a Reply

