jump to navigation

Why It’s Good to be Home July 26, 2010

Posted by KG in Back in DC, Friends, FS Life, State.
trackback

The best, most accurate rationalization for my period of extended silence: things have been busy.  In my 9-5 world (more accurately portrayed as 8-7) I have found myself challenged intellectually, psychologically, and physically.  The physical component has been the most surprising.  It’s the exhaustion of consecutive long days, the bruises and blisters from brand new dress shoes. the trying to remain presentable while D.C. does its best Mumbai impression.  There are some calluses where there were none before, and thank goodness for leaving my jackets at work.

This weekend the accumulated stress and strain of returning to a D.C. job was fully justified. 

There are many reasons, trivial and major, on both sides of any cost-benefit analysis of whether or not you should go overseas on your third FS tour.  Ultimately, it’s a personal call with no easy single solution.  We chose to come back to the States, and are learning all about work in “the building.”  There are days when that decision bugs me, and I freely fantasize about making the other call and going for another overseas post.

But this weekend I got to do something special: to be the best man for my best friend of 20 years.  Three years ago he did the same for me, flying cross-country as part of the bargain.  Being able to stand next to him at his wedding, with no transcontinental flights or other complexities looming over us, was a gift.  The wife and I danced late into the evening, and wished the couple a happy honeymoon knowing we’d be able to have dinner with them when they got back.

We’re not sure of what will happen after this tour.  What we do know is that there’s no subsitute for being present this weekend, one of the best I’ve had since we’ve been back home.  The regrets and second guessing on what we should have done with bidding for our third tour will probably persist, but remembering this weekend will be a great counter argument.

Comments»

1. Melissa V - July 30, 2010

It’s Friday, and that means that the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

Here is the link:
http://www.vonhinken.com/?p=782

(If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)


Leave a Reply

