jump to navigation

A Pain in the Ass August 11, 2010

Posted by KG in fitness, Running.
trackback

There’s really only one way to exercise, in my book, and that’s to overdo it.  How do you know your limits unless you go past them?  Lift heavier for more reps.  Run faster and longer.  Run faster and longer right after lifting heavier for more reps.  Doing yoga?  Bend more.  Now try it with one hand.   And so on and so forth.  Is it any wonder that that one Daft Punk song is always on my iPod?

I’m only half kidding.  After struggling with nagging ITBS, one possible incident of rhabdomylosis (a long time ago), and plenty of tweaked muscles, I’m relatively — relatively! — close to knowing my limits and being smart about them.   The days of really screwing my back up after doing something stupid are over.  At least I hoped so.

For the past few days I’ve been struggling with near constant pain from my piriformis.  I am fairly sure I initially aggravated it a few months ago, and ignored it as a generic hamstring strain.  But after a short-ish run on Sunday I found myself struggling to walk, and though that’s pretty much gone I’m now completely uncomfortable sitting. 

As a bureaucrat, you can imagine how difficult this is. 

I’m feverishly researching quick fixes and reading that unfortunately, the key is patience.  That and a tennis ball.   If any runners or yogis out there have faced this: suggestions?  Anecdotes?  I’m on the edge of my seat. (Literally.  It’s the only comfortable spot.)

Comments»

1. Catherine - August 11, 2010

I don’t know what the piriformis is, but are you sure it’s not a bone issue? I stress fractured my inner pubic ramus two years ago from running and that’s where the pain was located.

2. FSO-In-Waiting - August 11, 2010

Have you tried an old-fashioned rubber hot water bottle? You can get them at drugstores for $10-15.


Leave a Reply

