jump to navigation

Minutes with Powerful People September 24, 2010

Posted by KG in FS Life, State, Travels.
trackback

image

I’ve spent the last four days in New York, working at the UN General Assembly.  It has been an illuminating and humbling experience, to say the least.

Most of my days were spent in a small room in the Waldorf-Astoria, working on logistics for events involving my principal (Department-speak for the person doing the talking).  I have the fortune of working on the issues in a prominent region, and with a dynamic and dedicated principal; days in the control room were long and hard as we juggled meetings, movements, and papers on some of the toughest issues out there.  A few notable and fascinating times I escaped the room, mostly to work as a notetaker.  Once – easily some of the most fascinating 30 minutes of my career – for a Ministerial bilat.

So remember all that regret about missing out on the unjadedness of the new kids? I take it back.  Four days of diplomatic geek out and I feel pretty cool about this gig.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

